The Art of Foolish Arguing

Image

Recently, I have been dealing with arguments all over the place. In my house, in the work force, at school, well, basically everywhere. When I enter an argument it is usually about something completely stupid, and I know that, and assume the other person knows that. (2 Tim 2:22-26). Paul speaks against foolishness and I all too easily fall into it. The problem is, what I say is often misinterpreted and becomes offensive, not the way I intend it to.

When other people are offended by something, it doesn’t effect me and I am often cooped up in myself, I think “if I don’t feel bad afterwards, who cares? They probably don’t either.”

Wrong. “What’s wrong with you Connor?” I have limited and bogged down countless people by my joking ‘opinions’ and it has all been against the kingdom of God. I need to do this for the sake of others’ work for His kingdom, not for myself. Who cares about me? I need to get to the point where I don’t, because in who I am in Christ Jesus, I care about God and becoming the best vessel I can for Him. (John 3:30 “He must increase, I must decrease.”) It’s not the angel and the devil that I’m dealing with, it’s the angel and myself.

In reality, I’m a failure on my own, the only good that I am comes from who I am in Christ Jesus. I need to seek that more. Often, I think I have gotten to a point, then God puts me in my place “you’re not they’re yet.” (See stepping off our pride stool: https://connordefehr.wordpress.com/2013/03/12/stepping-off-our-stool-to-shed-our-old-wineskin-often/ )

Image

Things for self

That’s what most things have been, for myself. Unfortunately, things that are for myself are worthless. Jesus sought His Father’s will, not His own (John 14:10). He denied His flesh. I know unless I’m being sacrificial, my heart is in the wrong place. See, pleasure is all vanity unless it drives one to do God’s work. But often, it doesn’t and just distracts us from getting fulfillment in God.

Image

Pleasure to displeasure

For what comes after pleasure but displeasure? The pleasure of man cannot be redone because he seeks more than the previous time. Consider a beautiful view, once you arrive again, it isn’t as beautiful as before, or if it is as beautiful, there will come a time in which it will not be as beautiful and the heart will not find increasing pleasure in it. Even if there is pleasure at all, man will seek progress and will be sad if he doesn’t experience something greater (Ecclesiastes 1:8).

Image

Song: The Smiths: Bigmouth Strikes Again

This song speaks to my situation perfectly. It’s what I am: a bigmouth. (lyrics are in the video)

Leave a Reply

